Swedish Oikos Society
Det finns även en
svensk version.

The Swedish Oikos Society is a society for ecologists with a professional interest in ecological research. The societies' main activities are the annual Oikos meetings and the Oikos list - an electronic mailing list. The society is also one of the member organizations of European Ecological Federation (EEF) and represented in International Network of Next-Generation Ecologists (INNGE).

The word ecology stems from the old Greek word oikos, which mean house, home. Ecology is the science that studies how organisms (animals, plants) interact with each other and the environment.

Nordic Society Oikos is a separate society. According to its statutes, the Swedish Society Oikos appoints one member of the board of this society. Members om the Nordic Society Oikos are also The Ecological Society of Iceland (vistis.is only in icelandic), the Norwegian Ecological Society, Oikos-DK and the Finnish Oikos Society. The most important function for the Nordic Society Oikos is to own and publish the scientific journals Ecography, Journal of Avian Biology, Nordic Journal of Botany, and Oikos.


Membership in the Swedish Oikos Society is open to all ecologists. You become a member by paying SEK 60:- (or 300:- for 5 years) to the Swedish plusgiro 24 80 21-8. If you are paying through a foreign bank, they might want some extra information: Bank: Nordea, Stockholm, Sweden, IBAN: SE42 9500 0099 6042 0248 0218, BIC-kod (SWIFT-address): NDEASESS. Don’t forget your own your name!

Membership is free for students at the level of "examensarbete" if the supervisor is a member. More information can be provided by the secretary .

The Oikos list

The Oikos list is an electronic e-mail list for members of the Swedish Society Oikos. Messages should be of general interest to members and may concern symposia, courses, open positions, requests for data or other ecological information. Messages are sent as an ordinary e-mail to:


This is NOT the address the letters appear to come from. The sender will, like all members, receive a copy as a confirmation that the message has been relayed. The Oikos list is a closed list, which means that you must use a sender address that is on the list (the one you reported as a member of the society).

If you do not want to be part of the list, contact Jessica Abbott who will remove your e-mail address from the list.


President Jan Bengtsson Dept. Ecology, Swedish Agricultural Univ., Uppsala jan.bengtsson AT slu.se
Vice President Uno Wennergren Dept. Biology, Linköping University unwen AT ifm.liu.se
Secretary and treasurer Jessica Abbott Dept. Biology, Lund University jessica.abbott@biol.lu.se
Member Deborah Arlt Dept. Ecology, Swedish Univ. of Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala. deborah.arlt AT slu.se
Member Martin Lind Evolutionary Biology Centre, Uppsala university martin.i.lind AT gmail.com
Member Lars Hillström Dept. Biology, University of Gävle lhm AT hig.se
Member Johan Olofsson Ecology and Environmental Science, Umeå University johan.olofsson AT emg.umu.se
Member Jon Norberg Dept. Systems Ecology, Stockholm University jon.norberg AT ecology.su.se
Member Ola Svensson Inst. f. naturvetenskap, miljö och teknik, Södertörns högskola. ola.svensson AT sh.se
Member Anders Telenius Swedish Museum of Natural History atelenius AT gmail.com


Auditor Thomas Elmqvist Dept. of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences, Stockholm University
Auditor Johan Ehrlén Dept. of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences, Stockholm University
Deputy Börje Ekstam School of Natural Sciences, Linnaeus University, Kalmar
Deputy Karin Bengtsson Campus Gotland, Uppsala University, Visby

Board candidate selection commitee

Bodil Enoksson Dept. Biology, Lund University bodil.enoksson AT biol.lu.se
Lars Ericson Dept. Ecology and Environmental Science, Umeå university lars.ericson AT emg.umu.se

Representative and substitute in the Nordic Oikos Society

Permanent Vacant
Deputy Peter Hambäck Dept. of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences, Stockholm Univ. peter.hamback AT su.se

Representatives in the European Ecological Federation

Permanent Jan Bengtsson Dept. Ecology, Swedish Agricultural Univ., Uppsala jan.bengtsson AT slu.se
Deputy Bodil Enoksson Dept. Biology, Lund University bodil.enoksson AT biol.lu.se

Representative in the European Ecological Federation Education Forum

Anders Telenius Swedish Museum of Natural History atelenius AT gmail.com

Representatives in International Network of Next-Generation Ecologists

Mehdi Cherif Dept. Ecology and Environmental Science., Umeå University mehdi.cherif AT emg.umu.se
Georg Andersson Dept. Biology, Lund University georg.andersson AT biol.lu.se

Oikos meetings

Th first Oikos meeting was in Uppsala 1983. Since then meetings have been held in February each year, with ecology departments in Sweden rotating as hosts. Since 2014, every second meeting is a Nordic meeting which alternates between the five Nordic countries. The next meeting will be in Trondheim, Norway in February 2018.

The meetings provide an opportunity for Swedish ecologists to meet and discuss their work. The meetings also provide a broad overview of current Swedish ecological research.

Previous meetings.

A list of Swedish Ecology Departments, Government Authorities and others follow. The names are linked to home pages or pages related to research. Only top links are provided; in some cases several different departments can be accessed from the linked home page. If only pages in Swedish are available (tagged Sw.), these are linked.

Göteborg University
Dept. Biology and Environmental Sciences
    Sven Lovén Centre for Marine Sciences

Halmstad University
    Wetland Research Centre

Karlstad University
    Dept. Biology

Kristianstad University
    Man & Biosphere Health

Linköping University
    Dept. Theory and Modeling
    Avd. f. biologi

Linnaeus University, Kalmar
    School of Natural Sciences

Lund University
    Dept. Biology

The Swedish Agency for Marine and Water Management

Swedish Museum of Natural History

Swedish Polar Research Secretariat

Stockholm University
    Dept. of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences
    Dept. Zoology
    Baltic Sea Centre
    Stockholm Resilience Centre. Click: Research - Landscapes/Marine

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
    Dept. Aquatic Resources
    Dept. Aquatic Sciences and Assessment, Uppsala
    Dept. Crop Production Ecology, Uppsala
    Dept. Ecology, Uppsala
    Dept. Plant Protection Biology, Alnarp
    Dept. Wildlife, Fish, and Environmental Studies, Umeå
    Swedish Biodiversity Centre, Uppsala
    Unit for Field-based Forest Research

Swedish Board of Agriculture

Swedish Environmental Protection Agency

Södertörn University college
    Environmental Studies

Umeå University
    Dept. Ecology and Environmental Science

University of Gävle
    Biology research Sw.

University of Skövde
    The System Biology Research Centre, Ecological modelling

Uppsala University
    Dept of Ecology and Genetics

Örebro universitet
    Ecosystem Ecology

Field stations
    Abisko Scientific Research Station, Lappland
    Aneboda field station, Småland Top of web page
    Asa Research Station
    Askö Laboratory
    Station Linné, Öland
    Grimsö Wildlife Research Station
    Klubban Biological Station
    Kristineberg Marine Research Station
    Erken laboratory
    Siljansfors Field station, Dalarna Sw
    Skarhults Field station, Skåne
    Stensoffa field station, Lund Bottom of web page
    Svartberget Research Station, Västerbotten Sw
    Tjärnö Marine Biological Laboratory
    Tovetorp Research Station Sw
    Tönnersjöheden Field station, Halland
    Vindelfjällen Research Station Sw.

Click here to report corrections and additions

Page written by Rana Konsult
Updated: 2016 01 05